Just one more thought about “frumpy is not the same as modest.”

My barometer for all those rules about how I can dress is this: Does it work? In other words, if the problem of modesty is about seeking attention and recognition for myself, does wearing long skirts and baggy tops and never cutting my hair work to make me humble and selfless? Obviously, the answer to that is no. If I can wear the Christian “uniform” of a long denim skirt, nylons, boxy shoes, a baggy top, no makeup, and uncut hair and still be eaten up with pride, or worse yet, have that costume FEED my pride, I need to check my heart!

I think there are a whole lot of women who need to take a look at our hearts long before we take a look at our skirt length.

3 thoughts on “Just one more thought about “frumpy is not the same as modest.”

  1. Because, at the end of the day, Pharisaical rules are all about directing attention away from God, on the one hand, and our hearts, on the other.

    I don’t think modesty requires ankle-length skirts. On the other hand, modesty might perhaps rule out certain kinds of swimwear named after blown-up and irradiated islands in the Pacific Ocean.

  2. Pingback: 2011: The Blog In Review | A Wilderness Life

  3. Pingback: “Women Aren’t as Visual as Men” and Other Dangerous Lies | A Wilderness Life

Leave a Reply

