Ugh, Ugh, Ugh.

I’m usually SO on top of things with scheduling posts and making sure there’s something interesting (-ish) on the blog six days a week, but I’ve been battling a cold and just haven’t had the mental energy to do the normal amount of blogging. So, to tide you over until DOWNTON ABBEY UPDATE tomorrow and a few really fun things coming up, here’s some stuff I’ve learned or done or observed in the last week or so, in no particular order:

Violins don’t just make notes, they make vowel sounds, and not just any vowel sounds — FRENCH ones. Thanks, Justin Shaffer. (If you know him, twenty bucks says you just laughed delightedly and/or said, “Aw, Justin Shaffer. Love that guy.”)

My students — NINTH GRADERS — have the capacity to be kind, gracious, and encouraging to one another. Just don’t tell them I said that, because they would be SOOOOOOO embarrassed.

Speaking of French vowel sounds, I love French and am both pumped and terrified to spend this year working to improve my French skills. As I said to a friend tonight, “I can make all the sounds, but I just don’t have enough words for them!”

I really miss my community group when we don’t meet. Due to holidays and weather and scheduling craziness, we literally have not had a normal community group time since early DECEMBER, which is NOT OK WITH ME.

Can you have a wedding dance without a wedding? Because wedding dances, especially Sojourn ones, are the biz, and I would like to go to one every weekend. OK, I lied, I’m an introvert, maybe every OTHER weekend.

I love it when people’s faces visibly light up when they’re talking about something they’re passionate about. It’s one of my favorite things ever.

OK, that’s all I’ve got. See you tomorrow for some Downton recapping, and later in the week for some more fun stuff!

2 thoughts on “Ugh, Ugh, Ugh.

  1. Laura, I hope your cold passes quickly. Someone told me yesterday at church that instead of catching colds she’d like to let them go. I responded that I can’t say I’ve ever caught a cold. Instead they catch me. They come up from behind, grab me around the neck, throw me to the ground and then sit on me a while. At least that’s how it feels whenever I have a cold.

    Good points in your post here, too, Laura. I know what you mean about ninth graders, both in their capacity for graciousness and for embarrassment; that’s a great age in so many ways, and you must find teaching them to be an adventure in more ways than one too. And as for speaking French, I have the same relationship with Spanish: I’ve got the sounds down ok, but nowhere near enough words to make myself intelligible in a conversation.

    Praying for a speedy recovery for you,
    Tim

    P.S. Jane Hinrichs was nice enough to post a guest article I wrote over at her website: http://janehinrichs.weebly.com/1/post/2012/01/top-to-bottom-bottom-to-top.html. I hope you get a chance to take a look!

Leave a Reply

