I Sought the Lord

I sought the Lord, and afterward I knew:
He moved my soul to seek Him, seeking me.
It was not I who found, O Savior true;
No, I was found of Thee.

Thou didst reach forth Thy hand and mine enfold;
I walked and sank not on the storm-vexed sea.
‘Twas not so much that I on Thee took hold,
As Thou, dear Lord, on me.

I find, I walk, I love, but oh! The whole
Of love is but my answer, Lord, to Thee;
For Thou wert long beforehand with my soul:
Always Thou lovest me.

One thought on “I Sought the Lord

Leave a Reply

